Skip to main content


The Fountain Creek Watershed, Flood Control & Greenway District was created under SB09-141, established under Title 32 of the CRS. The boundaries, governance, and powers and duties of the District are established through this legislation.

The District consists of El Paso and Pueblo counties and is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of representatives from the cities of Colorado Springs, Fountain, and Pueblo; El Paso and Pueblo counties; small municipalities in El Paso County; the Lower Arkansas Valley Water Conservancy District; and the FCWD Citizens Advisory Group. A Technical Advisory Committee and Citizens Advisory Group provide input to the Board.


The District is authorized to manage, administer, and fund the capital improvements necessary in the Fountain Creek Watershed to:

  • mitigate flooding, erosion and sedimentation
  • address water quality issues
  • improve drainage
  • protect open space
  • and develop public recreational opportunities including open space.

The District has land use authority in the 100-year floodplain between El Paso and Pueblo counties (south of the City of Fountain and north of the City of Pueblo). Outside of this area, the District can provide input to public bodies on land use applications that may have direct or indirect impacts to the watershed.

Meetings usually take place on the 3rd Friday of the month at 9 AM unless otherwise noted. Check the calendar for current information.