

Fountain Creek Watershed Flood Control and Greenway District Board of Directors Annual Meeting Minutes January 27, 2023 - 9:00 am

Meetings are open to the public. This meeting was held by Zoom.

1. Call to order and establishment of quorum

Chair Estes called the annual meeting to order at 9:00. In attendance were the following duly designated members of the District Board of Directors:

Name: Representing: Tamara Estes City of Fountain Nancy Henjum City of Colorado Springs Stan VanderWerth El Paso County Terry Hart **CAG Chair** Jim Romenello El Paso County Jessica Mills Lower Arkansas Valley (Board Alternate) Detra Duncan Fountain City Council at Large (Alternate) **Pueblo County Commissioner** Zach Swearingen

Stephane Atencio, District Attorney

Alli Schuch

Jacob Olson, Water Lead Commissioner- Division of Water Resources

Mark Shea, Chair of Technical Advisory Committee, Vice Chair of Monetary Mitigation Fund Advisory Committee

Executive Director

Justin Barr, Farmer and Rancher on Fountain creek

Theron Verna, Deputy Water Commissioner- Division Of Water Resources

Herman Thiemens - Relationship Manager, Wells Fargo investment account

Ryan Hill -Investment Manager Wells Fargo Investment institute

Laura Clemens- Pueblo Resident

Annie Berlemann- Secretary TAC, CAG member- CSU

A quorum was present.

2. Approval of Agenda

 Director Schuch made an adjustment to the agenda to clarify that item 4b is a confirmation not appointment. Mr. Atencio added number 4 9 for CAG

Director Hart made a motion to approve the agenda as amended, Mr. Romanello seconded, unanimous approval.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

- none

4. ANNUAL MEETING STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS

A. Sunshine Act Compliance

- 1) Meeting notices will be posted at least twenty-four (24) hours in advance of a meeting at the same places as the El Paso County and Pueblo County Commissioners' meeting notices are posted.
- 2) The day and time of regular meetings shall be the fourth Friday of each month at 2:00 PM.; however, the Board may meet at a different time and place if properly noticed. The primary meeting place will be the City of Fountain City Hall, 116 S. Main Street, 2nd Floor, Fountain, Colorado 80817. During COVID-19 the Board will meet virtually on a platform to be determined and noticed by the Board. However, the Board has the ability and to meet in various locations from time to time.
- 3) The Secretary of the District shall be the official custodian of District minutes and records. All District minutes and records shall be kept and maintained for the Secretary by the Executive Director.
- 4) The audio recording is hereby designated as the official record of meetings.
- 5) The audio recording of executive sessions is hereby ordered, except for attorney/client communications.
- 6) The Official Newspapers for publication of required notices shall be the same newspapers that are used by the Boards of Commissioners of El Paso and Pueblo Counties.
- Mr. Hart made a motion to approve the Sunshine Act Compliance as listed, Mr. Romanello seconded, motion passed unanimously.
- B. Appointments, vacancy confirmations, and Confirmations of the 2023 Board members from:
 - 1) El Paso County (VanderWerf/Gonzalez)
 - 2) Pueblo County (Swearingen/Vacant)
 - 3) The City of Pueblo (Larry Atencio / Dennis Flores)
 - 4) City of Fountain (Tamara Estes / Detra Duncan)
 - 5) The Lower Arkansas River Valley (Nunez/Mills)
 - 6) Pueblo Citizen at Large (Pending approval)
 - 7) The City of Colorado Springs (Henjum/Vacant until elections)
 - 8) Small Municipalities (Romanello/GMF rep pending approval)

A motion was made by Mr. Romanello to accept the 2023 Board members, seconded by Mr. Swearangen, motion passed unanimously.

- D. Appointment of Board Officers
 - 1. Chair Tamara Estes
 - 2. Vice Chair Larry Atencio
 - 3. Secretary Terry Hart
 - 4. Treasurer Stan VanderWerf

Mr. Hart made a motion to appoint Ms. Estes in for Chair, Mr. Atencio for VIce Chair of the District Board for 2023, motion passed unanimously. Mr. Swearingen nominated Mr. Hart for Secretary and Mr. VanderWerf for Treasurer and Ms. Henjum seconded, motion passed unanimously.

Committees

- 1. Appointment of the 2023 Contracts and HR Committee Members
- Larry Attencio/ Jessica Mills
- Nancy Hendrum
- Tamara Estes
- 2. Finance
- Terry Hart
- Stan VanderWerf
- Jim Romenello
- 3. Strategic Planning Committee Members
- Detra Duncan
- Stan VanderWerf
- Nancy Hendrum
- Zach Swearingen
- Tamera Estes
- Terry Hart
- Jessica Mills
- Stephane Atencio

Mr. Hart moved to approve the committees as listed, Ms. Henjum seconded, motion passed unanimously.

- D. Appointment of the 2023 Citizens Advisory Group Officers and roster (attached with Board packet)
 - 1. Terry Hart as Chairperson
 - 2. Mary Barber as Vice Chairperson
 - 3. David Woolley as Secretary

Mr. Hart made a motion to approve the CAG roster and officers list, Mr. Romanello seconded, motion passed unanimously.

E. Appointment of the 2023 Technical Advisory Committee Officers and roster (attached with Board packet)

- 1) Mark Shea as Chairperson
- 2) Greg George as Vice Chairperson
- 3) Amy Berlemann as Secretary
- 4) Terry Hart as CAG Representative

Mr. Hart made a motion to approve the TAC roster and officers list, Mr. Romanello seconded, unanimously approved.

- F. Appointment of the 2023 Monetary Mitigation Fund Advisory Committee Officers
 - 1) Allison Shuch as Chairperson
 - 2) Mark Shea as Vice Chair
 - 3) Dominga Jimenez-Garcia as Secretary

Mr. Hart made a motion to approve the MMF roster and officers list, Mr. Romanello seconded, unanimously approved.

5. ADJOURN ANNUAL MEETING

Chair Estes adjourned the Annual Meeting.