Fountain Creek Watershed
Flood Control And Greenway District


The Fountain Creek Watershed Flood Control and Greenway District was created under SB09-141, established under Title 32 of the CRS. The boundaries, governance, and powers and duties of the district are established through this legislation.

The district consists of the counties of El Paso and Pueblo and is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of a representative from the cities of Colorado Springs, Fountain, and Pueblo; El Paso and Pueblo counties; small municipalities in El Paso County; the Lower Arkansas Valley Water Conservancy District; and the FCW Citizens Advisory Group. A Technical Advisory Committee and Citizens Advisory Group provide input to the Board.

The district is authorized to manage, administer, and fund the capital improvements necessary in the Fountain Creek Watershed to:

  • mitigate flooding, erosion and sedimentation

  • address water quality issues

  • improve drainage

  • protect open space

  • and develop public recreational opportunities including open space

The district only has land use authority in the 100-year floodplain between El Paso and Pueblo counties (south of the City of Fountain and north of the City of Pueblo). Outside of this area, the district can provide input to public bodies on land use applications that may have direct or indirect impacts to the watershed.

All meetings usually take place at Fountain City Hall, 116 S. Main Street, Fountain, CO, unless otherwise noted.

Learn how you can get involved

Helping protect the health of the Fountain Creek Watershed and our downstream neighbors.